There May Be Trouble Ahead

 

I just knew the day was going to go badly, it would be like pleating gravy.  Everything I had planned was going to fall apart and sooner or later the shit would hit the fan. My event planning business would, despite my herculean efforts, lose quite a few customers. …… I just knew it ……….

This was the biggest , most high profile , event I had ever organised and I knew I had done an amazing job. I had bloody well excelled myself.
I had finally arranged the seating despite the family feuds and cries of,

” Oh you can’t sit her next to HIM !”

 I had sourced the specially requested and extremely expensive, exotic blooms from the Philippines. And even driven all the way out to the airport to collect them and ensure they were stored in a suitable temperature at the venue.

I had made sure that the pearl white,  monogrammed balloons had all been carefully inflated and securely tied  to the huge silver arch,  beneath which the  bride and groom would stand.  I had checked that the full-blown, double-petaled roses that were to mingle with the balloons were completely thorn-free. This would be the special romantic arbour where they would hold hands and make their vows and kiss and I certainly did not want thorns to pierce the balloons and disturb the moment.
I had hired the most talented orchestra and given the musicians the long list of requests;  the bride’s favourite tunes and the special arrangement of the music for the  ‘first dance’.
I had booked the most fashionable caterers and risked the chefs disapproving stare when I gave him the recipe for the special honey-flavoured  dessert, which is, apparently, a favourite of the bride’s mother !
I had even given the waiting staff  a lesson or two in etiquette and made sure that every uniform, from hat to apron to glove was perfect in its starched, white, formality.
This wedding was going to be legendary in its beauty of design and decor; its leafy,  rose- petal strewn, crystal sparkling, fairy- lit, pink -cloud filled perfection.
So why was I so worried ? What on earth could possibly occur  to spoil such careful planning, such meticulous arrangements ?

The bride and her formidable mother would be here in an hour to inspect the room and give me the praise I so richly deserved…………….

 

……………..However, when they arrived, I would be sitting in a soft topped sports car,  hurtling towards Gretna Green with the groom !!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About rosiewrites2

Growing old, disgracefully and enjoying every minute.
This entry was posted in Blogging, fiction, flowers, humour, Uncategorized, weddings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to There May Be Trouble Ahead

  1. Rockleigh says:

    This is a classic …..
    Just love it. X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. AnneMarie says:

    Hahaha, tee hee, brilliant

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

