A Photo a Day in June …. June 19th

 

IMG_0500

 

19 days ago a very kind neighbour gave me some seed peas.  I carefully planted them in two long planters and protected them from the birds and squirrels with netting ……also given to me by the kind neighbour.

Sadly, my dreams of eating gorgeous little peas, straight from the pod, will probably never come to fruition.  A couple of plants are doing well, but the majority of green shoots are being munched by the dreaded slugs.

I refuse to use nasty chemicals to kill them, I have a dog and there are many other neighbourhood pets and slug pellets are poisonous.

My flower garden is also suffering and I have lost many precious plants, so I had to fight back somehow and I am happy to report that I have had a little success with a container of yeasty liquid, which I sink into the ground ……. the slugs don’t seem to be able to resist it and leap to a watery death, rather like lemmings.  I guess I will have to try it in my planters, too………..

So, because my photo of the peas is so disappointing, I bring you some pics of these glorious SWEET PEAS. 

They were also given to me by a kind neighbour …… I’m very lucky, aren’t I ?

 

 

 

About rosiewrites2

Growing old, disgracefully and enjoying every minute.
This entry was posted in A photo a day throughout June,, Blogging, challenges, flowers, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Photo a Day in June …. June 19th

  1. Rockleigh says:

    Im not an advocate for firearms, but, a bloody good old blunderbussing would serve deterrant to them pesky slugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rosiewrites2 says:

    Most things have a purpose … but slugs …..?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. AnneMarie says:

    Hi Rosie. I just wanted to let you know even though I might not comment on every post, I am enjoying reading all your June quest. I’d struggle a photo a week, lol. *applaud-applaud*

    Liked by 1 person

  4. rosiewrites2 says:

    Oh bless you. I’m just pleased that you are enjoying my rambles. Comments are optional. Thank you so much for being there and reading my posts. Xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

