Spring Resolutions

IMG_0212

 

I don’t make New Year Resolutions. Of course, I used to, back in the days when I was innocent and naive enough to believe that I would keep them. When the world was a much simpler place and everything was ‘sunshine and lollipops’.  But now I am older and wiser …… well maybe not very much wiser …. but certainly wise enough to realise that a promise made during the optimism and gaiety of a sparkling New Year, is just begging to be broken once the Christmas lights are dimmed, we all go back to work and the harsh reality of a grey and dismal January kicks in.

However, we are now into the third month of the year and spring is peeping through the dark clouds. The days seem brighter, the sun is shining and the flowers are appearing in every garden. Birds are singing and people are no longer wrapped up in huge coats and gumboots.  And I really feel that I ought to kick myself up the backside and snap out of the doldrums, where I have been hiding for the past couple of months.

I have neglected everything, recently.  I have just been ‘going through the motions’  , on autopilot , not really  living my life. Do you know what I mean ?

So, today, I have given myself a damn good taking to and have resolved to do better. To try and shake myself up a little and get back into the world. Oh yes, there are reasons for some of my feelings of ennui; my health is not great and the medication doesn’t help. ( I shall write more about my health issues in later posts)   But that’s no flipping excuse ….. there are thousands of folk who are far worse.

And so I have decided that this blog is going to be a large part of my new resolutions. My SPRING resolutions !

I am going to try and write a little something each day; though I am certainly not going to promise that I will manage to write EVERYDAY ….. but I will try.  Baby steps.

Some days it may only be a photo or a few scrappy words.  Other days it may be a long, boring story or a bit of a rant. But whatever ends up on these pages, at least I will be getting into the swing again.  So, lets see what happens …….

 

*****

HAPPY BIRTHDAY DAD

IMAG2328

Today is my dear old Dad’s 96th birthday. Doesn’t he look great ?

Happy birthday Dad, I love and admire you very much. I hope you have a fantastic day ! xxx

*****

About rosiewrites2

Growing old, disgracefully and enjoying every minute.
This entry was posted in birthdays, Blogging, depression, family, health, illness, life, mental illness, osteoarthritis, Parathyroid, stress, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Resolutions

  1. Rockleigh says:

    Dearest Rosie,
    I have missed your prose and comments, and yes, spring into spring instead of rolling too late into summer, I too have had so much crap going on and doing far too much for others, not that i regret doing so, but now realise i have, like yourself probably, not given myself enough time or own self enough attention. (we are needy people) xx
    I look forward to more of your work, and hopefully i can return some blogs too, once this week is over. Not looking forward to being a guest speaker at the Galmpton W.I. evening on Thursday with a Keynote presentation (DIM the lights please), as someone once said, there is only so much one can talk about tea towels and Brussel sprouts.
    XXX
    Take care

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rosiewrites2 says:

    Aw thank you for your lovely comments, dear friend. Yes I’m guilty of doing too much for others and spreading myself too thinly. And, of course, eventually something has to give, doesn’t it ?

    I hope you do get back into your blog. Perhaps you could give your WI ladies a talk about your literary career ?! Good luck, sweetie. Give ’em hell xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

