Seven Days of Random Photos …. Day 3 …. ‘Colouring In’….

IMAG2340

I have always loved  ‘arty‘ pastimes.  Apparently, I loved to draw, paint and write from the age of 3 and my enthusiasm for all things artistic and  ‘crafty‘ continued throughout the years.

If you have been following my blog for a while you will, no doubt, have seen some of my painting and knitting and card-making etc. ……

However, the sketching and painting have fallen into the giant abyss of my ennui and it has been a couple of years since I held a paintbrush, prepared a canvas or even opened my sketch-pad.  This has saddened me, but I have suddenly developed this silly feeling of being totally inadequate and unable to draw or express myself in paint anymore. ……. And this is such a pity, because I always found it so restful and peaceful to immerse myself in creating a piece of  ‘art’.

……….. But the situation is beginning to change ………

…………….. I have discovered the simple hobby of  ‘COLOURING IN ‘ ……

IMAG2347

 

Yes ….the same thing that children used to do on rainy days ….before they all had iPads, Play-Stations and Smart Phones.  Oh how I used to love  ‘colouring in‘  with my children …..all the while pretending that I was  ‘helping‘ them, of course ……

Well, now I can do it legitimately …. Now its the fashionable way to de-stress and relax ….. Now its  ‘big business’  with special colouring pencils and  gorgeously illustrated colouring books that are a work of art in themselves. …… all at a premium price of course.

 

IMAG2342

 

And I’m loving the effortless and uncomplicated ease of this pastime. Though I’m not very accomplished yet ….I don’t have the fancy  ‘alcohol pens‘ and posh pencils that the real afficionados use ….but, so what,  I’m enjoying myself.   Oh you may laugh and think,

” How childish. …..

But I say,

Don’t knock it till you’ve tried it.”

And I’m gradually getting my  ‘mojo’  back ….. I’m feeling inspired to begin painting again …………………….

Maybe I will be digging out my palette and oil paints very soon ……….

IMG00236-20110710-1110

Here’s one I did earlier.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About rosiewrites2

Growing old, disgracefully and enjoying every minute.
This entry was posted in art, Blogging, challenges, colouring in,, hobbies and pastimes,, life, painting, stress, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seven Days of Random Photos …. Day 3 …. ‘Colouring In’….

  1. Rockleigh says:

    All I can say is “dark horse”. Xx
    Oh! …. and please don’t go away again …. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rosiewrites2 says:

    Aw, you are so kind.
    And I will try not to disappear again…..lets hope my inspiration keeps flowing ….lol xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

