Faded Beauty

IMAG1461

 

I adore tulips …..I think they are my favourite  ‘cut‘  spring flower.

Daffodils, crocus and snowdrops look wonderfully cheerful when blooming in the garden, but tulips ….indoors, in a vase ….. have a simple elegance that appeals to me.

And they are gorgeous, even when faded.

Daffodils sort of  shrivel-up; snowdrops go all brown and sad;   but tulips continue to keep their colour and hold up their lovely heads until every petal has dropped.

Yesterday, someone said to me,

” You must have been beautiful when you were young “

I think I must have frowned a little, because they smiled and added,

” Oh, you know what I mean………………..” 

I know that they meant it as a compliment, but ……..

It does rankle a little.  I may be 67 but is beauty confined only to the young ?

I hovered between feeling flattered and feeling like some decrepit old bag ……at least, until I returned home and glanced at these tulips ……………..

They are well past their first flush of youth …..almost ready to be dumped in the dustbin.  And yet ….still proudly beautiful, even though that beauty is rather faded.

If I look even a quarter as lovely …….. well……I’ll take that.

 

About rosiewrites2

Growing old, disgracefully and enjoying every minute.
This entry was posted in life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Faded Beauty

  1. Rockleigh says:

    Cut flowers make such a difference to a home, and of course, lifts the spirits of a down mind, Chris bought me some cut flowers home today, a bad few days for me, they are beautiful, I’m just talking to them quietly and reflecting.
    Thank you for sharing tour wonderful blooms.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. paulgarrard says:

    You’re definitely not faded

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

