Salmon

IMG00209-20110628-2041

 

I have no intention of turning my blog into a  ‘Cookery, Food and Recipe‘  page.  My friends Annette and Gita do far better at that than I could ever hope.

However, following my  ‘Smoked Salmon’  post a few days ago, I was asked to share some of my favourite salmon recipes.

 

Well, to be perfectly frank, I think there is nothing nicer than grilled or baked salmon, accompanied by a simple salad ….or maybe the addition of a couple of new potatoes.  But that can become rather boring, I guess.  Especially when one is having salmon regularly in an attempt to eat more healthily.

 

I enjoy poached salmon; flaked and mixed with a variety of beans ;  such as baby broad beans; kidney beans; chickpeas; butter beans etc ….whatever takes your fancy.  I dribble a sweet chilli sauce over the mixture ….or plain old lemon juice.  It can be served hot, especially if you are using fresh broad beans. Or,   if you have the salmon cooked beforehand and kept in the fridge until needed,  you just need to open a couple of tins of beans of your choice and it makes an excellent and very speedy cold supper.

*****

I like salmon  ‘en papillote‘ ….I scatter the fish with sliced ginger, fresh chillis, spring onions ( scallions) …splash a little soy sauce over then wrap in a foil parcel , remembering to leave room for the air to circulate.  A 125g fillet will cook perfectly in around 15 mins at 180.

*****

This evening I am having this salmon fillet …………..

…………………. I have seasoned the fish with a  ‘teriyaki’ type seasoning.  I have popped in a whole tomato and a few whole, closed cap, mushrooms alongside the fish. I shall dot a little butter over the food and it will all be baked in a little foil parcel for approx 15 mins at 180. I usually serve with baby spinach or broccoli.

*****

Or how about Fish Kebabs ?

2 Salmon fillets ….cut into chunks.

1 large courgette cut into chunks

1 red pepper; de-seeded and cut into 8 pieces

Half a lemon cut into wedges

Jar of pesto

Kebab skewers

Toss the salmon pieces in 2 tablespoons of pesto, making sure it is well coated. Then thread the fish and veg onto skewers, finishing with a piece of lemon. Grill for approx 8-10 minutes, turning halfway, until cooked.

Serve with a green salad or maybe some rice or quinoa.

*****

Or you could try

Salmon Fish Cakes

This recipe serves 4 so you may need to adjust it.

1lb of cooked salmon fillet

1lb of cooked, mashed potatoes

1oz butter

2 teaspoons of wholegrain mustard

1 tablespoon of chopped dill and the same of chopped parsley

Grated rind and juice of half a lemon

1 tablespoon plain flour

1 egg …lightly beaten

1 1/4 cups of dried breadcrumbs

4 tablespoons sunflower oil

Salt and ground black pepper

Flake the cooked salmon, discarding any skin and bones. Place in a bowl with the mashed potato, melted butter and wholegrain mustard. Mix well.

Stir in the dill, parsley and lemon rind and juice. Season to taste with the salt and pepper.

Divide the mixture into 8 portions, shape into a ball; then flatten into a thick disc.

Dip the fishcakes into flour then in the beaten egg and finally into the breadcrumbs….coat evenly.

Heat the oil in a frying pan and cook the fishcakes until golden brown and crisp.

Serve  with rocket and chive salad and garnish with lemon wedges.

*****

I also like salmon baked with a pesto coating, then wrapped in thin-sliced courgette …..

Serves 4

ROASTED SALMON WITH PESTO AND CHERRY TOMATOES

4 salmon fillets

2 medium size courgettes

4 tbsp pesto sauce

150g mushrooms, wiped and grated

1 tbsp olive oil

Optional, to serve

300g cherry tomatoes

Remove any small bones from the fish. Heat oven to 180.

Mix the pesto sauce and grated mushrooms together and spoon equal amounts on top of each piece of fish.

Using a wide peeler, peel each courgette length-ways. Place the strips in a pan of boiling water for 1 minute then drain and plunge the strips into cold water.

Wrap the courgette strips ,one by one,  tightly around the pesto covered fish, completely covering them.

Place on a non-stick baking tray, brush with the oil and season with black pepper.

Roast in the oven for approx 15 minutes. After 10 mins add the vine tomatoes.

*****

Well,  I hope that has given you a few ideas.  And you can rest assured that this will be the last cookery blog post from me …..its so stressful trying to remember quantities etc as I usually just fling stuff in !   I have estimated quantities as accurately as I can ……so, . fingers crossed !  As for cooking times …well, every oven is different so I’ve done my best to give approximate times.  

 

About rosiewrites2

Growing old, disgracefully and enjoying every minute.
This entry was posted in cookery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Salmon

  1. Some great suggestions here. And I see no reason why you shouldn’t do another cookery blog post. We won’t blame you if ours goes wrong! We’re all home cooks and know it’s a question of trial and error.

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosiewrites2 says:

      Aw, thank you Annette. I have quite a few more salmon recipes but its so difficult to actually write the recipe, isn’t it..? I mean, I just throw things together, so when it comes to actually writing it down …well …… I’m certainly no Nigella.

      Like

  2. Michelle says:

    I love the sound of the pesto and courgette salmon. Your advice is very clear and readable. I know what you mean about flinging stuff together with approximate quantities – how else are we supposed to wage war on waste going through the fridge and using up!

    Like

  3. Michelle says:

    I tried the courgette and pesto salmon last night. I am not a great one for having gunk all over my hands though (I never have liked baking) and the strips were just tucked up under the fish with foil to parcel it all. I didn’t remember the mushrooms ☺
    When I checked the fish was ready I added a pinch of salt, a sprinkle of pepper and a squeeze of lime.

    The other half reckoned my presentation was a bit lacking but thought it was nice enough – served with buttery baby potatoes and round beans and broccoli.

    And I enjoyed it very much indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

