How to make a French Pleat

IMGP0491

 

A few days ago a fellow blogger ….the gorgeous MsCellany …… asked if I would do a couple of  ‘Hair-do’  tutorials.  Apparently she has some beautiful Stone Bridge hair accessories, but would like a few tips on using them to their full potential.

Well, I was very flattered, as I am certainly no expert and I know that Stone Bridge have some very helpful videos on their website.  But, I promised I would try and help and I do like to keep my promises……

So ….here we go ….and I hope this helps you, Gita !

First, let me draw your attention to the photo at the beginning of this blog post.

You will see an array of fabulous hair sticks and hair forks ….all from Stone Bridge Hair , of course.  They are all designed to hold a bun; chignon or French pleat in place on their own ….and they certainly do the job perfectly.

But ….when you are just learning to style your hair in a pleat or bun …..its not the end of the world if you use a couple of hair-grips or bobby-pins to help you secure your slippery locks.

Also ….My hair is very long but it is also rather fine ….a combination of age and past medication. If you have very thick hair, or very slippy, shiny hair, I would advise that you use a hair spray first.  Something like  Elnett  or a similar hair-styling product.  This will help you to control the hair. It also helps if your hair is a little dirty ….try not to wash it just before trying out new styles.

So ….are you ready ?   Here we go …………..

First brush your hair into a ponytail and hold it at the nape of your neck ……

 

 

……………………………. Then begin twisting it, quite tightly, upwards ……

 

……..until you come to the top of your head.  Be ruthless and firm with your hair ….make it do what YOU want it to do.

Now …if your hair is fairly short, this may be as far as you can go with the twisting. If so you just need to tuck in the ends as I will describe in a minute.  but if you still have some hair left you will now need to sort of keep twisting but downwards; tucking in as you go ………..

IMGP0503

………………..and even twisting back up again if your hair is really long ………….

IMGP0502

 

So now you should be able to tuck in any stray ends …..use a few bobby-pins if your arms are getting tired ……..

Then take the hair accessory of choice …….I am using a hair-fork as I think they are a little easier to use that a hair-stick for your first attempt ……

 

So ….insert the fork at the very top of your pleat …..making sure that you have caught the hair properly.  You should be pushing it towards your head ….almost as though you are trying to stick it in your scalp……….

IMGP0504

 

……………….  Then sort of wiggle it downwards but imagine that you are trying to weave the fork in and out of strands of hair ….. that’s what holds it in place !

IMGP0505

……………….keep going until you have threaded the fork all the way through the pleat and ……

IMGP0506

VOILA !!!

…..A perfect French pleat !

Well, it may not be perfect the first time ….in fact it probably won’t be……. but, hey, you’ve tried and I’m sure that you will soon be whizzing your hair up into a pleat in no time at all.

The French pleat can also be held by a clamp ….or barrette ….or anything you care to use, so don’t be afraid to experiment.

I really hope this has helped you all, I feel sure that I must have omitted a vital step …….. I have never done this sort of thing before …..as you can probably tell. And I would love to know how you get on ……..

About rosiewrites2

Growing old, disgracefully and enjoying every minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How to make a French Pleat

  1. msalliance says:

    Brilliant, Rosie, thank you.

    My hair is much shorter than yours and really thick so I do have trouble with these but I have a couple of hair forks so I’m going to try it your way.

    Like

  2. millieweb2 says:

    Ooh, when I was twenty, I could sit on my hair. I foolishly had it cut and it’s been short since then. Apart from a mullet in the 80s!! How I wish I could do the French pleat now. Your hair is so lovely, Rosie!

    Like

  3. Wow, I didn’t realize how long your hair is, nice work.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michelle says:

    Absolutely crystal clear instructions I thought. There could be a bright future in Stone Bridge how-to tutorials 😃

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

