Looking Back …and Giving Thanks

First of all, can a say a huge  THANK YOU  to everyone who has wished me  “Happy Birthday” today …. I have been totally overwhelmed with greetings on Twitter and Facebook …… You are all so very kind.  I am trying to reply to each message, but please forgive me if I don’t get back to you immediately.

And so we come to the end of the year ….. the very last day of 2015.

This is traditionally a time for looking back as well as making plans for the future.

Hmmm, so ….looking back …. what has this year brought ?  What do I remember most as the old year slips slowly away ? What have I achieved ?

Well, as usual, I began this year so full of hope and promise ….. Hope for a ‘new and improved‘ Rosie  ……. Promising to finally be the person that hides inside this  ‘Rosie-shell‘ ….. To do my own thing at last and to hell with the consequences …………. But, inevitably, I failed.  I’m just the same old me …..rowing frantically against the tide of responsibility and tradition; of duty and expectation ……. but my little boat never seems to conquer the current and so I drift back down the same old river.

And I guess that is the same for most of us …we make plans for a completely new start …. We dream the  ‘impossible dream‘ …… Fight the  ‘unbeatable foe‘ …… and remain just the bloody same as we were at the beginning of the year.

So ….I’m not going to do that anymore.  I’m going to make no promises; no  ‘New Year Resolutions’ …..I’m just going to do the best I can ….and if you need more from me than that ……….hard luck !

But I don’t want you to think that this has been a bad year for me …… au contraire ….. I may not have fulfilled my dream …but they are dreams for that very reason, aren’t they ?

I am lucky to have my lovely family, a constant joy,  who are, thankfully, mainly in good health. I had the enormous pleasure of attending my daughter Louisa’s beautiful wedding at the end of May. A wonderfully happy day, with all my family.

Though sadness did creep in in June when I lost my beloved dog Carys….my constant companion for almost 10 years.

But I try not to dwell on unhappiness.

I am privileged to have my dear, long-suffering best friend, who is my rock.  And I have all of you, too … My lovely pals on here; Twitter and Facebook.

And as I scroll back through this blog…. I see mainly joyful posts …..

Happy photos and silly stories.

Celebrations and blissful days; smiles and very few tears.

In retrospect, 2015 has been a good year …..and that is really all I should ask for, isn’t it ?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

HAPPY NEW YEAR

As we hurtle into 2016, may I wish you all….my dear readers…. a wonderful, peaceful, healthy and happy New Year.  May magic and sparkle fill your life.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

100 PLEATS IN 100 DAYS

And, before I go off to enjoy the rest of my birthday …. I must fulfill a promise I made a couple of days ago .

As you know, I have been taking part in the 100 PLEATS IN 100 DAYS CHALLENGE which ended yesterday. This challenge involved posting a photo of my hair in a French pleat; chignon; bun or twist….every day for 100 days.

During the course of this challenge I made some fabulous new ‘internet‘ pals and I must admit I was a little sad when we finally reached the 100th day …………so, as promised, I’m  posting a few of my favourite hairstyles

 

Here’s to the next challenge ……………….

 

 

 

About rosiewrites2

Growing old, disgracefully and enjoying every minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Looking Back …and Giving Thanks

  1. Happy Birthday, Happy New Year and Happy Pleats.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rockleigh says:

    I for one, as are many others, ready to standby you in your next new challenges, I really do appreciate your support during this almost lost year, and look forward to the future with renewed vigour, I do hope that we may at some point meet in reality instead of virtual.
    Take care my friend, your are an inspiration to many and you should be proud of that, take care ( bottoms up) 🍷💋❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

