Days 66 and 67 ….Pleats, Sticks and Leaves

IMGP0440

Well ….what a kerfuffle ……. So sorry I didn’t post a blog yesterday …… but more of that in a minute …..

The above photo is my offering for Day 66 of the 100 PLEATS IN 100 DAYS CHALLENGE …Yes ….DAY 66 !!! and not Day 65 as I posted it on Twitter ……

Yesterday was not a particularly good day …..Oh the weather was un-seasonally  lovely ….the sun shone ….the birds sang …..all was right in the world. But my old shoulder injury reared its ugly head and I found it difficult to style my hair and very painful to type.  So ……

But anyway …here is the style you should have had ….. a low bun; slightly on one side and secured with a gorgeous fuchsia pink Hair Stick from Stone Bridge Hair Accessories . Now, as you know, this glorious stick is perfectly capable of holding any amount of hair ….but, because I was in pain, I had trouble with a wayward strand and so ‘threw in the towel‘  and stuck a hair-grip in the offending strand. …..Sorry about that !

 

 

Day 67 of the 100 PLEATS IN 100 DAYS CHALLENGE 

 

IMGP0401

Day 67

And so to today ………..

I am still in a little pain but nevertheless here I am …..see what I do for you,dear readers ….. I struggle from my sick-bed ….  (only joking …..I’m not that bad)…….

Today I have attempted an Edwardian Roll.and, once again you may spot an errant hair-grip ….but this time it is supposed to be holding these leaves in place.  I think they resemble a  ‘feathered head-dress’ ….what do you think ?

And as for my shoulder …… well it may not have been so bad if I hadn’t had to go to Beverley for a few things, yesterday. Of course  a few things always multiplies into a  ‘great heap ‘  of things ….all of which had to be carried for, what seemed like, miles to the bus-stop.  I barely made it home ….I was so snowed under with packages.

By then my shoulder was so sore I just wanted to cry ….but I  had to go and help my neighbour; who has a broken collar-bone ….so I could hardly moan about my old  ‘war wound‘  could I ?

Incidentally, in case you are wondering ……my shoulder pain is a recurring event.  The remnants of a  frozen shoulder‘  sustained when I slipped on wet decking, many, many years ago,  while in pursuit of a Cocker Spaniel puppy who was  ‘having it away on his toes’ with a fishing rod, complete with fly and lethal hook.

Because I fell, the puppy, who was called Hamish,  escaped and actually swallowed the damn hook.  He had to be transported to the vets, with fishing line dangling from his mouth and undergo a tricky operation to remove the hook from his gullet.  He was absolutely fine and so was the hand-tied fly …..which the Vet ….also a keen fisherman….. proudly presented to my hubby after the operation.  I believe hubby continued to use that fly for many months afterwards. ……..

I, however, did not fare so well.  I completely knackered my deltoid muscle….ripped the ligaments in my right shoulder ….and had it strapped up for weeks. This was all very interesting as hubby had to return to work …..on an oil-platform 140 miles out in the North Sea.We lived in a tiny village in Scotland and I had an 8 year old son and a six-month old daughter ……. I became an expert at lifting her up by grabbing her  ‘baby-gro’ ……….. and driving my MGB one-handed …..

Ahhhh ….happy days ………..

 

About rosiewrites2

Growing old, disgracefully and enjoying every minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Days 66 and 67 ….Pleats, Sticks and Leaves

  1. msalliance says:

    Oh poor you Rosie. What a dramatic story. I hope you’re feeling out of pain soon. I so wish I had the ability to do my hair like this. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosiewrites2 says:

      Thank you Gita ….I’m a lot better today. Cold weather doesn’t help any joint injury, does it ?
      You have beautiful, thick hair …… mine, though very long, is fine, wispy and horrid …….
      Yours would be fabulous in some of these styles …..

      Hope you have recovered from your trip to India xxx

      Like

  2. Oh Rosie, what a tale…and what a pain in the.. Shoulder. Amazed that you still carry on with the fab updos as you do. And helping your neighbour too. What a trooper you are. Hope the pain is easing off a bit now. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Annette Hardy says:

    Goodness, what a horrible accident all round, and I’m sorry you still have recurring pain. Your hair looks lovely though. x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. millieweb2 says:

    Oh sweetheart, so sorry you are in pain – wishing you a speedy recovery xxx
    You still look SO elegant and stylish though – you are amazing!
    Mx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

