CHOICES

IMGP0006

Our lives are shaped by the choices we make and can be changed on a whim;  the snap of a finger or the blink of an eye.
If only we hadn’t driven  ‘that ‘ way home , we would not have had that accident;  flat tyre;  run out of petrol.
If only we had taken the train instead of the bus we wouldn’t have missed the job interview. The one that could have meant a new career, a new direction.
What would have happened if we had said  “Yes”  instead of  “No”,  or vice versa ?
And if we hadn’t been in a certain place at a certain time we would never have met our partners; best friends; long lost relations; whatever !
The wonderings and  “What if…” s  go on in a never ending list.
I often wonder if I would do things differently if I had the chance to try again. Or would I make the same decisions,  choose the same path ?   Of course,  I am assuming I would have the chance to make these choices with the benefit of hindsight. That would be the easy way. Wouldn’t we all change  “something”  if we could ? ………… Or perhaps you are all so contented with your lives that you would do it all again ………. exactly as before ?
Its enticing to imagine that we could choose another direction,  but, of course, our choices have a  “knock on “  effect. They involve other peoples lives too.  If I had done things differently I may not have my children and delightful grand children; my dogs and my friends.   But would I have another  different  family ? ………. I will never know.

I am happy in my own skin …….. My choices have made me the person I am and I don’t think I would change that.  But sometimes …..just sometimes ……. I wonder ………….
I am wrestling with some difficult choices now, we all do every day.  Whatever I decide, I am aware that it will shape my life in the future.   I made choices so lightly in the past, with all the carelessness of youth. But now I am older I have come to realise how one little decision, one casual word,  can change everything.
I would love to hear what you think.

Would you change anything ?

Do you have regrets ?
I have thought carefully about those questions and have decided that,  in the main, there is very little I would change.  Just the odd thing ……..here and there.  Although, perhaps in the 1980s  I wouldn’t have had a green streak in my hair !!

About rosiewrites2

Growing old, disgracefully and enjoying every minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CHOICES

  1. I wouldn’t change a thing but that thought doesn’t stop me from asking the question, I think we all ask it at one point or another.

    Like

Leave a Reply

