Day 9 of 100 Pleats ………… And Another Silly Poem

IMGP0291

Day 9 and I’m really getting into the swing of things with this Challenge.  No doubt I shall begin to run out of steam soon ………. but, at the moment, the lovely autumnal weather is helping. It is so nice to bask in the early morning sunshine as it filters through the blinds as I experiment with styles and coax my hair into place.

Today I have gone for a neat look …….. with a nice, tidy French pleat …….. topped by a swirl of ‘top-knot’ to keep any stray ends under control.

The whole effect is rather severe and ‘school-marm-ish’ ……which is quite apt as, last night, I was teaching a neighbour how to use her new laptop.

Not that I pretend to be particularly knowledgeable about such things.  Technology remains ….mostly…a complete mystery.  Its all  ‘gobble-de-gook’  and I generally leave it to the experts ….. namely geeks and ‘Minecraft’ addicted 7 year olds !  But I do know how to create an email address and set up all the basics.   Even these simple skills were beyond my poor friend’s comprehension.

Oh, I know I used to be just the same, but……as I was taking her through the various tips etc., I was really surprised at how much I actually know.  I have really no idea how I have absorbed this knowledge – perhaps by some sort of osmosis. And yes…… I have had help along the way. Mainly from my startlingly bright daughter and my equally clever best friend.  But ….and this is a great big fat BUT for me ……..I appear to have RETAINED the knowledge and actually UNDERSTAND what I’m doing.  And I now find that I can work things out ALL ON MY OWN !!

And that, dear reader, for a ditz like me, is nothing short of a miracle ………………………. !

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Of course, some of us have other talents ………. 

TALENT

I’ve always dreamt of finding something I could really do.

Some special thing, in which I could excel.

Like soaring on a hang-glider, up into the blue,

But heights don’t seem to suit me very well.

…………………………………..

I wondered if my voice could take me to the top.

If choirs and bands would compete for my singing.

But, at every audition they all just screamed out ” STOP !”,

And the meanest ones said that my voice was “minging”.

……………………………………

My jittery attempts at baking for success

Should really, I admit, be best forgotten.

My Victoria sponge cake was such an awful mess

And , of course, my pies all had a soggy bottom.

……………………………………….

I’ve bumped along, throughout my life, trying this and that,

Searching for a talent most unique.

Painting, writing, gardening; crocheting a mat !

Something different every flipping week.

……………………………………………

But the clouts and disappointments I have had along the way,

Were beginning to destroy my special dream,

Until I saw a certain thing, just the other day.

And now I’m like the cat that got the cream !

…………………………………………….

People flock from far and wide. I’m even on TV

And honestly; though nothing else was working,

Now I’ve found my special thing, I’m happy as can be.

‘Cos I’m really ace …… I’m just the best at TWERKING !!

__________________________________________________________________________________

About rosiewrites2

Growing old, disgracefully and enjoying every minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 9 of 100 Pleats ………… And Another Silly Poem

  1. Rockleigh says:

    *Twerking* keeps you fit, if you can master the rumble of the bunz. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

