Forthcoming Events ……… Day 71 of 100

Early evening sunshine in Skidby.

Early evening sunshine in Skidby.

Last night I attended a meeting of the Management Committee of the Skidby Village Hall ….and I am, rather ridiculously, proud  to say that I am now a committee member.

Skidby Village Hall

Skidby Village Hall

The other members were so lovely and very welcoming  and I am so thrilled to be part of  village life again.  When I lived in Howden, I was always  involved in various projects and organisations. I really enjoy helping to create a friendly and helpful community and love organising events and functions …..I guess I’m just a  ‘bossy-boots’ !!

Naturally I will not discuss our agenda ………  but I can tell you of some upcoming events and then maybe you can attend, if you are in the area.  However, if you’re not ……don’t worry….because I will endeavour to post lots of photos, so you can still feel part of this gorgeous village and its people.

Unfortunately I will miss the first event ….I will be at my daughter’s home; looking after kids and dogs while she is on honeymoon in the Dominican Republic …….  more of that in future posts.

But, in case you can make it ……. The 42nd Annual art Exhibition Weekend takes place on Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th June.

However, I am pleased and totally delighted to tell you that Friday 10th, Saturday 11th and Sunday 12 July sees the welcome return of the Skidby Scarecrow Festival Weekend !

This is now in its 5th year …unfortunately, due to circumstances beyond our control, there was no Festival last year.

But now its back !!!

Bigger and better than ever and promises to be a spectacular, fun event.

If you have been following me on Twitter, you will have seen some of the photos from previous years ….if not….well, you are in for a treat !

Here are some jolly scarecrows from 2013 ………

IMG-20130712-01001-20150214-162601975 IMG-20130712-01006 IMG-20130712-01012-20150214-162624435 IMG-20130714-01081 (1)

I’m sure  you can see just how creative, artistic and inventive the Skidby people are ….. !

So, we have lots to look forward to and I can’t wait to include you all in every forthcoming event, throughout the year. You can bet your sweet bippy…………… I will keep you posted !!!

Dusk falls over Skidby.

Dusk falls over Skidby.

About rosiewrites2

Growing old, disgracefully and enjoying every minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

