Always Expect the Unexpected ………. Day 33 of 100

IMAG0247Today its Easter Saturday …..midway between Good Friday and Easter Day.

Easter is a holy time for Christians ….for others it is a welcome holiday ….but, for everyone its a time of renewal….of new beginnings …… a promise of warmer weather, leading us into carefree summer days and balmy nights.

So, what photo would you expect today ?

Lambs in lush green fields, full of the joys of spring  ?

Children, eating hot-cross-buns and  scoffing chocolate eggs ?

Cute pictures of fluffy chicks and flowered Easter bonnets ?

Religious images of crucifixion and resurrection ?

Nope ….none of the above …….

Dear readers ….I give you a photo of my Christmas poinsettia !!

Isn’t it doing well ?  I can’t believe that I haven’t managed to kill it off …….I always do.

I usually have two of these plants ……one, I buy for myself and the second one is given to me by my daughter-in-law, Tracey.

Well, I  buy mine in early December,  as soon as they appear in the shops. They start off all bushy and gorgeously full of deep green leaves, topped by scarlet bracts ………and as soon as I remove the protective cellophane wrapper the leaves begin to drop. Its as though they give up the will to live as soon as I approach.  In no time at all, the poor thing is practically bald ……in fact the plant I buy barely makes it to Boxing Day.

However, the gift plant from Tracey always thrives.  Go figure …………..

But this one …..the one that I have  so proudly photographed at  EASTER,  for goodness sake …….. is one I bought way back in late November ……and it has survived  ……… !!!!!!!!!

I’m so delighted ………

So, there you go ……a Christmas image at Easter-time …….but, as my friends and family often say,  when it comes to Rosie,  you should always expect the unexpected ……..

IMAG0246

About rosiewrites2

Growing old, disgracefully and enjoying every minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

