Blank …………. Day 29 of 100

IMAG0237

Blank …..the title of this blog post.

Blank…… this page in my notebook.

Blank …… my mind … bereft of ideas; totally lacking in inspiration.

This enforced rest is taking its toll and I fear I will soon be slipping into the  “today is bin collection day”  and  “oh, gosh, its raining”  types of blog posts. And that would never do.

_________________________________________________________________________

Today I had an appointment with my GP. Nothing to do with my leg injury, incidentally. No….this was for some ongoing health problems. Now,  as I am only able to do a sort of  shuffle with the aid of a walking stick,  I was a little apprehensive about it, but it is becoming so difficult to get an appointment, that I was determined to keep it.  I mean…..I’ve waited 3 weeks for this one.

So yesterday I had a little practice, just to see if I was able to actually leave the house.  The two steps at the door were the problem ….not to mention the walk down the path to the car.  But, with a little care and much clinging to the door-handle, I was successful.

My knee continues to improve and I have much more movement in the joint.  I’m sure that, in a couple of days, I will be back to normal.  But, it has certainly made me appreciate how lucky I am.   The world is still not really a convenient place for the disabled despite new rules and regulations and improvements to buildings.

Arriving at the doctors and managing to get out of the car was the least of my problems.  I still had to get into the place.

Well, there are steps up to  the door and, today, due to my knee,  these were impossible to use….but there is also a ramp.  Fair enough……..or so it would seem.

In the past I have never given it much thought other than to think to myself,

“Ah yes, the disabled are catered for ….there’s a ramp”

It has never really occurred to me that to use the ramp means having to walk twice as far !  For someone who is being pushed in a wheel-chair, this may not be too much of a problem.  However, for someone on crutches, or using a walking stick and suffering pain, as I was, its a VERY BIG THING. 

And this, I fear, is for many disabled folk, just the tip of an enormous iceberg.

I only had to cope this once……some people have a lifetime of such inconveniences and painful situations.

Being incapacitated for even a brief time has certainly made me think …………  Perhaps it would do us all a world of good to be similarly handicapped for a couple of days.

_____________________________________________________________________________

About rosiewrites2

Growing old, disgracefully and enjoying every minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

