Sitting on the Sofa ………… Day 28 of 100

IMAG0233_BURST002

Well, its the second day of inactivity.

The second day of being practically immobile.

And I’m fed-up.

For those of you who don’t know …….. I had an accident on Saturday afternoon; I collided rather spectacularly with my dog and damaged my left leg.  The knee bent the wrong way …sort of backwards; the pain was dreadful and the swelling was very impressive ….as you can imagine.

As a result, the poor joint  could not bear any weight;  I was totally unable to walk. But, at least, nothing was actually broken ….just well sprained and torn …………no gymnastics or football for me ……

After complete rest yesterday, I am not in pain…..its just a bit achy ….and I find that, with the aid of a walking-stick, I am able to sort of  ‘shuffle’  from room to room, albeit at a snail’s pace.  However, I am still under orders to rest; with the knee elevated and well-bandaged. And there lies the problem.

I am not used to inactivity……I’m always  ‘on the go’…….and I am finding this enforced rest very tedious.

Oh, don’t misunderstand me, I know its for my own good ……in fact, I am well aware that I am absolutely unable to walk about.  But that doesn’t make it any easier, does it ?

So here I sit …. or, rather, mostly lie,  to enable the damned leg to be higher than my heart.

 I mean ….what the heck can I do in that position ?  Erm ….stop sniggering you naughty people !!!!

Seriously, all I can do is read.

And this is the perfect house for reading …..there are books everywhere.  On shelves; in bookcases; in stacks on the floor.  There are hundreds of them.

IMAG0235_BURST002

And if I get a little uncomfortable, lying back and trying to turn the pages of a conventional book,  I always have my trusty Kobo e-reader ………

IMAG0236_BURST002

Yes, I am very fortunate …..all these books and all this time to read ……………..

Usually, I am so busy, rushing hither and thither.  There are always a million other things to do and I bemoan the lack of time to do what I want.  There never seems to be a minute to spare; to read; or just relax.  I should embrace this spare time….sit back and enjoy it.

But, naturally, its the last flipping  thing I want to do ………..

Oh fickle woman !

_______________________________________________________________________

And as for the culprit ….the cause of my injury ….the one who just HAD to barge into the same space that I was occupying ………………..

Well, she couldn’t care less….could she ………….hehehe !!!!

IMAG0232

About rosiewrites2

Growing old, disgracefully and enjoying every minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

