Acceptance …………. Day 26 of 100

A couple of my cross-stitch pictures need to be re-framed. They were done a long time ago ….probably about 20 years ….and the once-perfectly-flat pieces of aida cloth have succumbed to gravity;  slipped down in the frame and become rather  ‘bumpy’ …..as you can see in these photos ……..

IMAG0225        IMAG0229 (1)

So I am taking them out of their frames; pressing them and generally making the stitch-work look neat again.

And this makes me more than a little wistful ……. because I used to do such delicate needlework; such fine embroidery and cross-stitch.

Long ago, before years of grooming dogs took such a toll on my arthritic hands,  I completed dozens of cross-stitch projects; embroidered napkins, cushions and table-cloths for gifts. I loved sewing.

Now I can’t hold a sewing needle for any length of time.  Oh,…I can replace a lost button or something like that…..but, that’s about it.  And that makes me sad.

But I try not to think about the things I can no longer do ……..hand-stitching; roller-skating (arthritic knees); cycling; running round the show-ring with a dog ……….

Instead I am trying to accept the status quo and concentrate on what I CAN do.  At least I can continue to be creative with my painting, writing and occasional knitting.  There are so many people who are so much worse off …………I must stop moaning.

_______________________________________________________________________

The leaflets for the impending General Election have begun to arrive. This was from the Conservative Party and went straight into the recycling bin.

IMAG0230

 But, I am not playing favourites ….. any correspondence from  the other parties will probably follow the ill-fated Tory leaflet.

I am totally disillusioned with all the parties  ……. I think that, nowadays, they are all the same, in different hats.

This grieves me, because I believe we should all exercise our right to vote.  But I have absolutely no idea who I shall vote for in May.

I don’t usually blog about politics ….and this isn’t really a political piece …..but I wish I could believe that politicians are NOT all self-serving.

Maybe someone can persuade me …………….  ?

About rosiewrites2

Growing old, disgracefully and enjoying every minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

