Trying To Get in the Groove …………… Day 4 of 100

I’m still struggling.

Still trying to get “in the groove”.

Still not really doing this properly.

You see, its because I’m blogging every day !

When I write my occasional stories and reminisces, I always jot everything down first …..by hand.  I usually sit, curled up on my sofa, armed with  a pristine notebook and a huge container of freshly sharpened pencils and begin the writing process.  This is how I like to work …..with much crossing out and sighing and doodling in the margin ……. until I have my finished piece.

Then …..and only then ….. I type it all out on my trusty netbook. Copying my notes and editing as I go.

I can take a couple of days over my story or article …….I don’t usually have a deadline.  I only have myself to please.

But now I am committed to producing a blog post every day.  Now I do not have the luxury of being able to take my time.  And so I am typing straight onto my computer …………. and there lies the problem.

For some reason, when faced with a keyboard, my thoughts do not flow as freely as when I’m merely writing on good, old fashioned paper !   I feel awkward and stifled ……every word seems stilted and false.

I have no idea why this occurs …..I can only hope that it will improve with time. Perhaps I will become accustomed to working this way ………..I jolly well hope so.  But, until then, I  can only apologise and hope that you will all bear with me.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Today began overcast and rather cold…..it is only early March, after all and I shouldn’t expect too much. It has been a remarkably mild and sunny winter, despite the recent colder snap.

But as I type this, the sun has made an appearance and the sky is now blue with fluffy cumulus clouds scudding by in the rather stiff breeze.  And my bulbs….. bought on a whim from some supermarket for a couple of pounds and shoved rather unceremoniously into a few plant pots …….are beginning to pop up.

I am well aware that the wicked little squirrels have made a meal of quite a few  bulbs.  I watched as they scrabbled in the compost and made off with their little claws full !  But the corms and bulbs that survived these squirrely raids are producing beautiful little flowers.

Spring is on its way !!

IMAG0107    IMAG0108

About rosiewrites2

Growing old, disgracefully and enjoying every minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trying To Get in the Groove …………… Day 4 of 100

  1. msalliance says:

    I feel your pain, Rosie. I used to do only sporadic posts too but, while I am enjoying the discipline of posting every day, and the cathartic release it gives me, it means that some longer-term project posts are lost and there is a risk of my “Today I went to Waitrose…” posts being deadly dull.

    Maybe, however, it is just a case of practice and I can keep some of these longer term posts on the back burner until they are fully cooked waiting to be released. Good luck, anyway, with your blogging adventure. xxx

    Like

  2. rosiewrites2 says:

    Yes, I do enjoy writing my little short stories….but they are out of the question at the moment. Life is busy enough, as I’m certain you will agree.
    Last year I did a “Photo a day for 100 days” and enjoyed it…..I did not always need to compose any accompanying text. However, an actual article is so very different……
    Thank you for taking the time to read and comment, Gita. I know you lead a busy life, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

