A Photo a Day for 100 Days …… Day 49

IMG01847-20140921-1028

49 of 100

LOST AND FOUND

Today I am a happy bunny because my  ‘Dotty’  cake-stand is fully functional again.

It was purchased when I lived at Fixby  (Huddersfield) and I loved to use it ….mainly because my kitchen colour scheme was …… and still is ….. white with black and red accents. And also because I think polka dots are always so cheery.

It was dismantled and packed away, carefully, when I moved to my new home, here in East Yorkshire and all should have been well.

However, there is a law that say some things must be inexplicably  lost each time you move house.  And I lost the metal, middle-thingy ….. the spindley bit that joins the two plates together.

I searched high and low, but to no avail.  ‘Twas definitely gone ……… along with a few other bits-and-bobs …… never to be seen again.

So, for over two years, the spotty, dotty plates have languished in a cupboard,  the holes in their centres rendering them useless for much else.  A source of great irritation and sadness whenever I baked fairy-cakes or scones or anything that would have looked more appetising if displayed attractively.

 Oh I have a couple of  ‘Christmas’  cake stands and one of those metal cupcake holders, but they weren’t what I wanted ……. I missed my polka-dot pal.

Of course I thought about throwing them away, they were no use just gathering dust.  But anyone who knows me will realise that I find it difficult to discard  ‘stuff’.  I am more than a little  ‘squirrely’.  So they remained ……………..

But, this morning, on a whim, I decided to tidy my over-flowing tea-towel drawer …….. yes, I hoard them too !

 So, I pulled them all out, with the intention of refolding and replacing them …… I know, I know !! …………………. and there ……………at the bottom …………… tucked among the  ‘too-pretty-to-use’  tea-towels and the  ‘still-in-its-box’  spare paring-knife was the  metal, middle-thingy !!!!

I couldn’t believe it !

Now, I know very well ….as sure as  “eggs are eggs”  as my old grandma used to say…… that I had looked  EVERYWHERE and have emptied this drawer many times.

Perhaps the  ‘god-of-lost-things’  finally decided to return it ………………….. but I wonder what has gone missing in its place …………………

About rosiewrites2

Growing old, disgracefully and enjoying every minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

