The Power of Advertising ……….. ( Day 26 of NaBloPoMo )

Today I went here …….

Image

I don’t usually shop at this huge, 24 hour Superstore.  In fact I don’t shop at Asda.  I  prefer to use Morrison’s or Waitrose and, occasionally, Sainsbury’s supermarkets. Apart from the fact that Asda is further away than the other stores, I find these huge cathedrals of consumerism rather overwhelming and can never seem to find the things I want.

But, for the last couple of nights, I have noticed an advertisement on TV.  It is one of the usual Christmas ads, full of people eating and drinking and generally making merry …………… you know the sort of thing I mean ?  All perfectly normal ………….. if such a perfect picture of culinary bliss can ever be considered  ‘ normal ‘.

 However, this advert is for  Asda’s  ‘ Christmas fare’  and there, tucked away, among iced cakes and mince pies, Panettone and candy canes are  Christmas Tree shaped crumpets !

Yes, I know, they are only crumpets …….. but I am such a sucker for Christmassy things  !

Really, I adore the whole,  twee, kitsch silliness. I never take any notice of advertisements throughout the year, but the sight of a star-shaped cookie, or snow-flake shaped waffle,  gets me every time.

 So, nothing would do until I had rushed off to a store that I never normally visit; miles away from home; solely to buy packs of very ordinary crumpets that just happened to be shaped like a tree !

This made me wonder about all the other things that stores try, probably successfully, to sell us just because it is Christmas.  How about these ……… ?

Onesies !!

Image

I know ………….. not my taste either, but they were selling like hot……erm……………. onesies !

Or maybe you would like some Christmas socks ?

Image

 Yeah, …….. they are cool …….. I like them !

The store was very brightly decorated, to get everyone in the mood for buying.  Even the floor was decorated ……….

Image

And there were more tins of chocolates than even the most confirmed chocaholic could consume ……………….

Image

Then there were aisles of trees. Poor little things;  cut off in their prime and forced into a plastic  ‘hairnet’, then stacked in an over-heated shop …………….. no  wonder they drop their needles the moment you begin to decorate their branches …

…..

Image

I could go on and on, There was so much  ‘stuff’ . Even Christmas treats for your animals …………… and why not ?

Image

But, these very large  ‘superstores’ make me dizzy and disorientated so I located the crumpets  and made my way to the checkouts.  Even here the spirit of Christmas prevailed, with helpful assistants showing me the way ……….

Image

And …………. just in case I should forget ……….. a helpful Christmas tree bade me  ” Farewell” ………

Image

Oh, yes, I almost forgot ………….. here are the crumpets ……….aren’t they just the cutest thing ?  ……………

IMG-20131126-01479

About rosiewrites2

Growing old, disgracefully and enjoying every minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

